FALL RIVER DUI ATTORNEY
The most common misconception people have, when it comes to getting charged with a DUI, is that a DUI first offense isn’t a big deal. But, the reality is, nothing could be further from the truth: in Massachusetts, a DUI first offense can lead to excessive fines, license suspension, and even jail time! For that reason, you need to contact Rory Munns, Esq., the minute you’ve been arrested for a DUI, even if you’ve never been arrested for a DUI before. You shouldn’t have to face the prospect of the charges tied to a DUI first offense alone!
What can happen with your DUI first offense?
In Massachusetts, a DUI first offense is not a minor charge. If arrested, and ultimately convicted of a DUI for the first time, the following can happen:
- Getting fined: in Massachusetts, if found guilty of a DUI first offense, the law states that you will have to pay up to $5,000 between fines and state penalties. No matter what you do for a living, or how much money you make, having to pay $5,000 is a huge financial burden on you and your family.
- You will lose your license: depending on the severity of the DUI, and depending if any accidents occurred in the process of driving under the influence, you could lose your license for up to one year. This can make traveling to and from work very difficult, especially if you don’t live near any form of public transportation.
- Jail time: this, perhaps, is the most severe penalty that you can face in Massachusetts. If convicted of a DUI, even if it’s only your first time convicted, you could face up to 30 months (more than two years) in jail. Jail time is enough to cause an undue financial and emotional strain on yourself and your family.