Massachusetts DUI Laws
Massachusetts is well known for having very strict 'driving under the influence' laws. Massachusetts DUI Laws are commonly called OUI 'operating under the influence' Laws and have been reinforced with more rigid laws in 2005 with the introduction of Melanie's Law and the Ignition Interlock Devices Law. According to Massachusetts DUI Laws anyone operating a motor vehicle 21 years old and older, with Blood Alcohol Content level at .08% or above is considered "driving under the influence". For Commercial drivers, the level is limited to .04% or higher. While for drivers under 21 years old the limit is .02%. It is important to remember that even if the level of alcohol in your blood is below the limits, you can still be convicted for driving under influence.
Massachusetts DUI Laws - Penalties
|Offense||License Suspension||Jail Time||Fine|
|First Offense||Up to 1 Year||Up to 2 ½ Years||Fines Up to $5,000|
|Second Offense||Up to 2 Years||Between 60 days and 2 ½ years||Up to $10,000|
|Third Offense||Up to 8 years||Up to 5 years||Fines Up to $15,000|
Section 24. (1) (a) (1) Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood of eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment.Massachusetts Laws
MASS DUI Penalties
Have you been charged with or accused of a DUI offense and you're unsure what to expect? Familiarizing yourself with the penalties associated with these types of criminal charges could help you through the process. It can also impress the importance and high level of penalties connected with each case. The general consequence assigned to first-time offenders in Massachusetts DUI laws are pretty straight forward and very consistent. Upon being charged violators normally receive the minimum penalties for these offenses. For first time offenders in the State of Massachusetts those penalties may include:
- Fines ranging from $500-$5,000
- Up to 2 1/2 years in prison
- Maximum of 12 month license suspension
- If a child under the age of 14 is present at the time of the arrest you may also be charged for child endangerment
Repeat MASS DUI Offenses
Facing charges for violations of MASS DUI laws can be a scary feat and should be taken seriously. When facing DUI offenses as a repeat offender is even sterner. As the occurrences of DUI charges compound, the penalties become much more severe. For example an individual facing a DUI accusation for the second time around can be ordered to pay up to $10,000.00 in fines and may have a two year license suspension. As a repeat offender you are more likely to be sentenced with longer periods of jail time, license suspensions and higher amounts of personal fines.
Having us in your corner will make all the difference in the outcome of your case. You don't have to face your charges with an inexperienced attorney without a solid track record of DUI cases. Massachusetts DUI Attorney Rory Munns has successfully defended hundreds of clients against Driving Under the Influence accusations and he can do the same for you.
Contact us at our Fall River office today for the expertise and attention your case deserves. We have experience in defending his clients from accusations of violations of Massachusetts DUI laws. | Call 774-206-9222 to schedule a free consultation regarding your DUI matters and get the legal representation you need to fight on your behalf.
Massachusetts DUI Laws
Criminal Defense Attorney Rory Munns
161 S Main St Fall River , MA 02721